ARC Review: Nightbooks by J.A. White

IMG_2723

Nightbooks

Author: J.A. White // Publication date: July 24, 2018

★★★★

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

 

Goodreads

IMG_2996

 

Thank you Katherine Tegen books for sending me a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

 

“After his family had finally fallen asleep, Alex slung the bagpack over his shoulder and snuck out of the apartment..”

 

The moment I read the synopsis on Goodreads I knew it was the kind of book for me. The book might have been written for a middle grade audience, but I absolutely loved it! Witches, magic and scary stories all packed into one little book.

I didn’t expect the book to be scary since it was written for a young audience, but even though, the stories that Alex narrated did get the creepy factor across. Alex has a vast imagination and a love for everything horror. You can tell just by reading this book that he has some pretty good ideas for a kid his age.

Loved Alex’s character and loved that there was a middle eastern touch with the appearance of Yasmin. I felt exceptionally proud to have understood what Sito and Kusa mihshi were before she got the chance to  explain them! Of course I loved Lenore (always consider the animals as my favorite characters) I even liked Natacha! (Just a little bit)  The story was really fantastically written. I didn’t feel bored for even a second. The story was creative and very original. There was a modern touch to the story, and I feel like children would really love it.

I think everyone should read this. Regardless, how old you are there’s definitely a big chance that you’ll enjoy this!

 

IMG_2996

 

About The Author

Website

J. A. White lives in New Jersey with his wife, three sons, and a hamster named Ophelia that doesn’t like him very much. When he’s not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories (along with math and science and other important stuff). He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work.

 


 

phonto (10)

Have you read Nightbooks? If not are you planning to?

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Nightbooks by J.A. White

  1. Marie says:

    Okay, first, I am in love with that book’ cover, like, really, I want to have the book just for that cover, it looks way too pretty 😅
    Second, I loved your review! I don’t read a whole lot of MG books, but lately I’ve been reading more and more reviews for these kind of books and it’s making me want to give them a try. I really want to try out this one, I’ll have to add it to my TBR! Thank you for sharing this 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s