Middle Grade Monday | 3 Books I can’t stop recommending

Who doesn’t like a comforting middle grade? As of late, I’ve been trying to read more middle grade novels. I’ve read a few in the past and have enjoyed them but I never really stuck to them. This year however, I read multiple and enjoyed them immensely. What’s better than a middle grade recommendation post? Read on to discover the middle grade books that I can’t stop recommending! Also do share some of your favourite books with me.


#1 – Other Words For Home by Jasmine Warga

35398627. sy475

Other Words For Home was unlike anything I have ever read before. The book was written in verse and had the most beautiful writing. The story was hopeful and heartwarming but also sad at times. I cried while reading this and it instantly became one of my favorite reads. Plus, Hijabi girl on the cover? Yes, please.

Read More »

Tv Show Review | The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (2021)

Welcome back to the blog! I just realized that I never shared my excitement for The Falcon and the Winter Soldier on here (oops), but I’ve come to remedy that. I watched the show with my siblings as every episode came out. Each episode made me so excited for the next one and I can safely say that I truly loved this show. Definitely worth the watch and I most definitely recommend. Read one to see what I thought!

Read More »

Book Review | The Last Wish (The Witcher, #0.5) by Andrzej Sapkowski

The Last Wish

Author: Andrzj Sapkowski  // Published: January 31, 1993

★★

40603587. sx318

Geralt of Rivia is a witcher. A cunning sorcerer. A merciless assassin.

And a cold-blooded killer.

His sole purpose: to destroy the monsters that plague the world.

But not everything monstrous-looking is evil and not everything fair is good. . . and in every fairy tale there is a grain of truth.

The international hit that inspired the video game: The Witcher.

Goodreads

Read More »

Book Review | Home Is Not a Country by Safia Elhillo

Home Is Not a Country

Author: Safia Elhillo  // Published: February 2, 2021

★★★★

54446520. sy475

 

A mesmerizing novel in verse about family, identity, and finding yourself in the most unexpected places—for fans of The Poet XI Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, and Jason Reynolds.

Nima doesn’t feel understood. By her mother, who grew up far away in a different land. By her white suburban town, which feels both dangerous and familiar. At least she has her childhood friend Haitham, with whom she can let her guard down and be herself.

Until she doesn’t. As the ground is pulled out from under her, Nima must grapple with the phantom of a life not chosen, the name her parents didn’t give her at birth: Yasmeen. But that other name, that other girl, might just be more real than Nima knows. And more hungry.

This book is a story of mothers and daughters, of friends and enemies, of journeys and homecomings, and of realizing that sometimes the person you’re meant to be has been staring at you in the mirror all along.

Goodreads

 

Read More »

Unapologetically Muslim Interview | With Jasmine Warga

Welcome back to another Unapologetically Muslim post! to say I’m excited would be an understatement. I read Other Words For Home for the first time last year and I honestly can’t tell you how many tears I cried. That book touched me in so many ways, and in ways I wasn’t even expecting. It automatically became a favourite of mine. I got the chance to read The Shape of Thunder earlier this year and felt the exact same way. So it’s with a lot of excitement that I get to interview one of my favourite authors on the blog today!

Please welcome, Jasmine Warga!

Read More »

Unapologetically Muslim Interview | With Saadia Faruqi

Welcome to the first Unapologetically Muslim post of 2021! This project has been in the making for quite some time. I started this project with the Muslim bookish community in mind. This community has meant the world to me, and over the years we’ve had more and more authors and content creators graciously bringing our voices and stories to the forefront. I couldn’t be prouder of this community, and this is my way of contributing to it. This is in no way enough but I hope you’ll follow this project throughout the coming months, and that you’ll listen and uplift these wonderful people and their stories with me.

I’m so happy to be starting the project in this way and that’s by interviewing such a wonderful author on the blog today. I present to you Saadia Faruqi, author of A Thousand Questions, Yasmin, and A Place at the Table!

Read More »

Mini Book Reviews | Bridge of Souls, Miles Morales: Shock Waves, and The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane

Bringing you some mini middle grade reviews today!

Bridge of Souls by Victoria Schwab | ★★★★

45178637._SY475_

 

Thank you Scholastic for the gifted review copy!

Absolutely in love with this book! Victoria Schwab continues to bring us the most interesting and atmospheric stories. I’ve never been to New Orleans but the descriptions made me fall in love. I looked up every building mentioned and haunted story told. These books never fail to bring the creepy and haunted atmosphere to life. I adore these characters too! Cassidy, Jacob and Lara are so easy to love and the banter is always fun. I just love their adventures so much. The stakes were definitely high in this one and I was a little worried about how this would end. Everything wrapped up nicely and I got a good dose of fuzzy feeling from the friendship between these three friends.

I think these are definitely books that everyone can appreciate regardless of age!

 

Read More »

Book Review | The Bridge Kingdom (The Bridge Kingdom, #1) by Danielle L. Jensen

The Bridge Kingdom

Author: Danielle L. Jensen  // Published: October 16, 2018

★★★★

71GWX8s2fHL

What if you fell in love with the one person you’d sworn to destroy?

Lara has only one thought for her husband on their wedding day: I will bring your kingdom to its knees. A princess trained from childhood to be a lethal spy, Lara knows that the Bridge Kingdom represents both legendary evil – and legendary promise. The only route through a storm-ravaged world, the Bridge Kingdom controls all trade and travel between lands, allowing its ruler to enrich himself and deprive his enemies, including Lara’s homeland. So when she is sent as a bride under the guise of fulfilling a treaty of peace, Lara is prepared to do whatever it takes to fracture the defenses of the impenetrable Bridge Kingdom.

But as she infiltrates her new home – a lush paradise surrounded by tempest seas – and comes to know her new husband, Aren, Lara begins to question where the true evil resides. Around her, she sees a kingdom fighting for survival, and in Aren, a man fiercely protective of his people. As her mission drives her to deeper understanding of the fight to possess the bridge, Lara finds the simmering attraction between her and Aren impossible to ignore. Her goal nearly within reach, Lara will have to decide her own fate: Will she be the destroyer of a king or the savior of her people? 

Goodreads

Read More »