Book Review | Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko

Ghost Girl

Author: Ally Malinenko // Published: August 10, 2021

★★★★

Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, Ally Malinenko’s middle-grade debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story—with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps!

Zee Puckett loves ghost stories. She just never expected to be living one.

It all starts with a dark and stormy night. When the skies clear, everything is different. People are missing. There’s a creepy new principal who seems to know everyone’s darkest dreams. And Zee is seeing frightening things: large, scary dogs that talk and maybe even . . . a ghost.

When she tells her classmates, only her best friend, Elijah, believes her. Worse, mean girl Nellie gives Zee a cruel nickname: Ghost Girl.

But whatever the storm washed up isn’t going away. Everyone’s most selfish wishes start coming true in creepy ways.

To fight for what’s right, Zee will have to embrace what makes her different and what makes her Ghost Girl. And all three of them—Zee, Elijah, and Nellie—will have to work together if they want to give their ghost story a happy ending.

 

Goodreads

Read More »

TBR & Wrap Up | September Reads

Long time no post! I feel like I’ve taken the longest break from blogging. As much as I enjoyed the time off I did really miss writing. Hopefully, by the time this goes up, I’ll have more posts and reviews coming. September was a really good reading month! I read a lot of books based on my mood so even the genres were all over the place. Definitely not complaining because I honestly had the best time and I found a few new favourites that I can’t stop recommending. Read on to see what I read last month!

Read More »

Stalking Shadows by Cyla Panin Excerpt

Welcome back to the blog book lovers! Today I’m really excited to share with you an excerpt of Stalking Shadows by Cyla Panin! This is a gothic Beauty and the Beast retelling and it’s now available for purchase. Read on to find chapter one of Stalking Shadows.


About the Book

A gothic YA fantasy debut about a young woman striving to break her sister’s curse and stop the killing in her small French town


Seventeen-year-old Marie mixes perfumes to sell on market day in her small eighteenth-century French town. She wants to make enough to save a dowry for her sister, Ama, in hopes of Ama marrying well and Marie living in the level of freedom afforded only to spinster aunts. But her perfumes are more than sweet scents in cheap, cut-glass bottles: A certain few are laced with death. Marie laces the perfume delicately—not with poison but with a hint of honeysuckle she’s trained her sister to respond to. Marie marks her victim, and Ama attacks. But she doesn’t attack as a girl. She kills as a beast.

Marking Ama’s victims controls the damage to keep suspicion at bay. But when a young boy turns up dead one morning, Marie is forced to acknowledge she might be losing control of Ama. And if she can’t control her, she’ll have to cure her. Marie knows the only place she’ll find the cure is in the mansion where Ama was cursed in the first place, home of Lord Sebastien LeClaire. But once she gets into the mansion, she discovers dark secrets hidden away—secrets of the curse, of Lord Sebastien . . . and of herself. 

 

Read More »

Blog Tour The Final Child by Fran Dorricott

Welcome to my stop of The Final Child blog tour! I’m so excited to be sharing my review for this intense read. A huge thank you to Titan Books for the review copy and for including me in this blog tour.


The Final Child

Author: Fran Dorricott / Release Date: September 7, 2021

★★★★

 

undefined

 

A stunning psychological thriller from the author of After the Eclipse, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne.

Erin and her brother Alex were the last children abducted by ‘the Father’, a serial killer who only ever took pairs of siblings. She escaped, but her brother was never seen again. Traumatised, Erin couldn’t remember anything about her ordeal, and the Father was never caught.

Eighteen years later, Erin has done her best to put the past behind her. But then she meets Harriet. Harriet’s young cousins were the Father’s first victims and, haunted by their deaths, she is writing a book about the disappearances and is desperate for an interview. At first, Erin wants nothing to do with her. But then she starts receiving sinister gifts, her house is broken into, and she can’t shake the feeling that she’s being watched. After all these years, Erin believed that the Father was gone, but now she begins to wonder if he was only waiting…

 

Read More »

TBR & Wrap Up | August Reads

Happy first day of September! I still can’t believe how time flies. The months are just blurring together now. August was…an interesting reading month I’d say. I read 11 books which are more than I thought I’d read considering how slumpy I’d been feeling most of the month. I read some pretty fun books and found a few series to keep up with. Read on to find out what I read last month! And do let me know what your favourite reads of August were 💖

Read More »

Plan a month of reading with me 📚 August TBR

Welcome back to another TBR planning post! Now I’ll be honest with you and mention that last month’s TBR didn’t go according to plan. I only ended up reading 3 of the books on the list but I’m actually pretty glad I got to them. I did start a fun new challenge which is the Genre Jar. I have a strong feeling it’ll be holding me accountable for my monthly TBR. Read on to find out what I plan on reading this month!

Read More »

Movie Review | Midsommar (2019)

I’m back with an unusual movie review this time around! I should mention that I don’t want horror. Like ever. So imagine my surprise when I decided to deliberately watch Midsommar? I feel like I could have started with something a bit less…weird? Scary? I don’t know but I wanted to see Florence Pugh in this because I just knew she would be amazing (she definitely delivered!). So what did I think about the movie overall? Read on to find out!

Read More »

Book Review | The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

The Wonder

Author: Emma Donoghue  // Published: September 20, 2016

★★★★

The Irish Midlands, 1859. An English nurse, Lib Wright, is summoned to a tiny village to observe what some are claiming as a medical anomaly or a miracle – a girl said to have survived without food for months. Tourists have flocked to the cabin of eleven-year-old Anna O’Donnell, and a journalist has come down to cover the sensation. The Wonder is a tale of two strangers who transform each other’s lives, a psychological thriller, and a story of love pitted against evil.

 

Goodreads

Read More »