✵Tags · Bookish Talks · books · Uncategorized

The Sunshine Blogger Award

 

Thank you Blessedly bookish, Reading Parental, Behind these brown eyesShania’s World and Jamsu Dreams for nominating me for The Sunshine Blogger Award!

I’m gonna have a ton of questions to answer on this post 😱

Continue reading “The Sunshine Blogger Award”

3 stars · ✵Review · books · Uncategorized

Mini Review: Warm Up (Villains, #0.5) by V.E. Schwab

Warm Up

Author: Victoria Schwab // Publication date: August 20, 2013

★★★

18248613

It’s been 297 days since David died–and came back.

He may have survived the avalanche, but the aftermath has been far worse. His wife moved out, taking his son with her, and a devastated David hasn’t left his house since, terrified of the mysterious new power that followed him home from the ill-fated expedition.

After months in seclusion, David’s ready for a fresh start, and ventures out, determined to keep his power in check. But David’s power isn’t the one he needs to worry about.

 

Goodreads

Continue reading “Mini Review: Warm Up (Villains, #0.5) by V.E. Schwab”

5 stars · ✵Review · books · Uncategorized

Review: Restore Me (Shatter Me, #4) by Tahereh Mafi (Spoilers)

phonto (28)

Restore Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi // Published: March 6, 2018

★★★

34992929

 

Juliette Ferrars thought she’d won. She took over Sector 45, was named the new Supreme Commander, and now has Warner by her side. But she’s still the girl with the ability to kill with a single touch—and now she’s got the whole world in the palm of her hand. When tragedy hits, who will she become? Will she be able to control the power she wields and use it for good?

Goodreads

Continue reading “Review: Restore Me (Shatter Me, #4) by Tahereh Mafi (Spoilers)”

3 stars · ARC Reviews · ✵Review · Uncategorized

ARC Review: Hole in the Middle by Kendra Fortmeyer

phonto (12).jpg

Hole in the Middle

Author: Kendra Fortmeyer // Published: September 4, 2018

★★★

37792712

Morgan Stone was born with a hole in her middle: a perfectly smooth, sealed, fist-sized chunk of nothing near her belly button. After seventeen years of hiding behind lumpy sweaters and a smart mouth, she’s fed up with keeping her secret. On the dance floor one night, she decides to bare all.

At first she feels liberated . . . until a few online photos snowball into a media frenzy. Now Morgan is desperate to return to her own strange version of normal—when only her doctors, her divorced parents, and her best friend, Caro, knew the truth. But tragically Morgan’s newfound openness and Internet celebrity seem to push those closest to her further and further away.

Then a new doctor appears with a boy who may be both Morgan’s cure and her destiny. What happens when you meet the person who is—literally—your perfect match? Is being whole really all it’s cracked up to be?

 

Goodreads

Continue reading “ARC Review: Hole in the Middle by Kendra Fortmeyer”

4 stars · ARC Reviews · ✵Review · Blog Tours · books · Uncategorized

ARC Review & Blog Tour: City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

IMG_2897

City of Ghosts

Author: Victoria Schwab // Publication date: August 28, 2018

★★★★☆

Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspectres, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspectres head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

 

Goodreads

Continue reading “ARC Review & Blog Tour: City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab”

ARC Reviews · ✵Review · ✵Reviews · Uncategorized

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

IMG_2714

Sawkill Girls

Author: Claire Legrand // Publication date: October 16, 2018

★★★★☆

Beware of the woods and the dark, dank deep.

He’ll follow you home, and he won’t let you sleep.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: the new girl. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: the pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.

Val: the queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives, a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires.

Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight… until now.

Goodreads

Continue reading “ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand”

ARC Reviews · ✵Review · Uncategorized

ARC Review: Nightbooks by J.A. White

IMG_2723

Nightbooks

Author: J.A. White // Publication date: July 24, 2018

★★★★

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex’s original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he’ll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He’s loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don’t have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he’s desperate for a different ending—and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer’s block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

 

Goodreads

Continue reading “ARC Review: Nightbooks by J.A. White”