Books I’ve hauled this year! 📚

When was the last time I posted a book haul? Ages ago but we’re going to pretend I do this regularly. Do I have some exciting books to show you! I’ve brought together books that I’ve bought and was gifted so far this year. I’m honestly kind of surprised that I’ve only bought seven books so far this year. I mean seven books in five months is actually pretty good (gifted books aside). Then again my birthday is coming up so I might add another two or three to the shelves but for now here it is. Read on if you’re at all curious about what I got!

Read More »

Book Review | Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin

Rosemary’s Baby

Author: Ira Levin // Published: March 12, 1967

★★★★★

25036196._SY475_

Rosemary Woodhouse and her struggling actor husband, Guy, move into the Bramford, an old New York City apartment building with an ominous reputation and mostly elderly residents. Neighbors Roman and Minnie Castevet soon come nosing around to welcome the Woodhouses to the building, and despite Rosemary’s reservations about their eccentricity and the weird noises that she keeps hearing her husband takes a special shine to them.

Shortly after Guy lands a plum Broadway role, Rosemary becomes pregnant, and the Castavets start taking a special interest in her welfare. As the sickened Rosemary becomes increasingly isolated, she begins to suspect that the Castevets’ circle is not what it seems . . .

Goodreads

Read More »

Anticipated horror releases of 2022 👻🔪

Never thought I’d be writing a post like this for the blog but here we are. If you didn’t know, I’ve been getting into horror books and movies recently. I never thought I would to be honest with you but I’ve been enjoying the journey so far. My first big step for 2022 was to look into all the new horror book releases and I’ve found a bunch I’m super excited to get to this year. If you’re looking for something scary and creepy to read this year, this list might have the books for you!

Read More »

Fantasy and Sci-fi book series I want to read in 2022

Welcome back to the blog! So last year was a great reading year. My reading tastes expanded and I read some books that I really never thought I’d pick up. My reading has definitely become a lot more diverse in that way. I’m going to continue that journey but I believe I need to pick up some more books in my much-beloved genre, and that is fantasy. I’ve made a list (as usual) of all the series I want to read this year. Read on to find out which ones are a priority.

Read More »

Book Review | The Maid by Nita Prose

The Maid

Author: Nita Prose // Published: January 4, 2022

★★★

A charmingly eccentric hotel maid discovers a guest murdered in his bed. Solving the mystery will turn her once orderly world upside down in this utterly original debut.

Molly Gray is not like everyone else. She struggles with social skills and misinterprets the intentions of others. Her gran used to interpret the world for her, codifying it into simple rules that Molly could live by.

Since Gran died a few months ago, twenty-five-year-old Molly has had to navigate life’s complexities all by herself. No matter—she throws herself with gusto into her work as a hotel maid. Her unique character, along with her obsessive love of cleaning and proper etiquette, make her an ideal fit for the job. She delights in donning her crisp uniform each morning, stocking her cart with miniature soaps and bottles, and returning guest rooms at the Regency Grand Hotel to a state of perfection.

But Molly’s orderly life is turned on its head the day she enters the suite of the infamous and wealthy Charles Black, only to find it in a state of disarray and Mr. Black himself very dead in his bed. Before she knows what’s happening, Molly’s unusual demeanor has the police targeting her as their lead suspect. She quickly finds herself caught in a web of deception, one she has no idea how to untangle. Fortunately for Molly, friends she never knew she had unite with her in a search for clues to what really happened to Mr. Black—but will they be able to find the real killer before it’s too late?

A Clue-like, locked-room mystery and a heartwarming journey of the spirit, The Maid explores what it means to be the same as everyone else and yet entirely different—and reveals that all mysteries can be solved through connection to the human heart.

Goodreads

Read More »

Movie Review | Malignant (2021)

This year has definitely been full of surprises. The one I’m talking about today is the fact that I started watching horror movies. It started with Midsommar and I’ve been watching a horror movie a day for the past week. I saw the trailer for Malignant in cinema a few months back and really wanted to see it. So what did I do? I saw it. Not a horror movie expert (obviously) but read on to know what I thought of James Wan’s latest.

Read More »

Book Review | Ghost Girl by Ally Malinenko

Ghost Girl

Author: Ally Malinenko // Published: August 10, 2021

★★★★

Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, Ally Malinenko’s middle-grade debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story—with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps!

Zee Puckett loves ghost stories. She just never expected to be living one.

It all starts with a dark and stormy night. When the skies clear, everything is different. People are missing. There’s a creepy new principal who seems to know everyone’s darkest dreams. And Zee is seeing frightening things: large, scary dogs that talk and maybe even . . . a ghost.

When she tells her classmates, only her best friend, Elijah, believes her. Worse, mean girl Nellie gives Zee a cruel nickname: Ghost Girl.

But whatever the storm washed up isn’t going away. Everyone’s most selfish wishes start coming true in creepy ways.

To fight for what’s right, Zee will have to embrace what makes her different and what makes her Ghost Girl. And all three of them—Zee, Elijah, and Nellie—will have to work together if they want to give their ghost story a happy ending.

 

Goodreads

Read More »

TBR & Wrap Up | September Reads

Long time no post! I feel like I’ve taken the longest break from blogging. As much as I enjoyed the time off I did really miss writing. Hopefully, by the time this goes up, I’ll have more posts and reviews coming. September was a really good reading month! I read a lot of books based on my mood so even the genres were all over the place. Definitely not complaining because I honestly had the best time and I found a few new favourites that I can’t stop recommending. Read on to see what I read last month!

Read More »

TBR & Wrap Up | August Reads

Happy first day of September! I still can’t believe how time flies. The months are just blurring together now. August was…an interesting reading month I’d say. I read 11 books which are more than I thought I’d read considering how slumpy I’d been feeling most of the month. I read some pretty fun books and found a few series to keep up with. Read on to find out what I read last month! And do let me know what your favourite reads of August were 💖

Read More »