#Project14lists: New to me authors in 2018

Participants-Project14Lists

If you’re interested in joining you can find more information here. You can also follow the lists that I’ll be making on my Twitter.

 

https://i.imgur.com/t87BuXJ.jpg

2018 was a wonderful reading year for me. I read so many amazing books and got to discover some new favorite authors.

Here’s a list of some new to me authors that you should definitely consider.

 

IMG_2996

 

Holly Black

 

Image result for the cruel prince hollyImage result for the wicked king hollyImage result for the lost sisters hollyImage result for the coldest girl in coldtown

“If I cannot be better than them, I will become so much worse.”

My most favorite author of 2018 has got to be Holly Black. I read four of her books this year and went so far as to buy another two (none of the pictured) and ordered another one on Amazon. You can tell she’s taken over my life. I read The Cruel Prince in July and got an ARC of The Wicked King from the publishers.

 

 

Laini Taylor

 

Image result for strange the dreamerImage result for daughter of smoke and bone

 

“It was impossible, of course. But when did that ever stop any dreamer from dreaming.”
 
Last year I decided to finally pick up a Laini Taylor book. I started with Strange the Dreamer and it quickly became one of my most favorite books ever! After falling in love with it I decided to start Daughter of Smoke and Bone and it was another one that I absolutely loved. Laini Taylor has such unique world building and such lyrical writing. I would recommend her books to everyone!

 

 

 

V.E. Schwab

 

Image result for this savage songImage result for vicious v.e. schwabImage result for vengeful v.e. schwabImage result for city of ghosts victoria schwab

 

“He could be the monster if it kept others human.”

 

As you can clearly see 2018 was a V.E. Schwab year. I’m not even complaining. Her writing is perfect, her characters have become favorites, and I’m officially adding every book she comes up with to my TBR. Vicious and Vengeful were absolute faves! And I was lucky enough to have gotten an ARC of City of Ghosts in August. Such a fun read!

 

 

Leigh Bardugo

 

Image result for leigh bardugo books

“No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.” 

 

I’m late I know but I only picked up Six of Crows last July. I was pretty freaked out to pick it up since it was hyped so much, and I was worried I would end up disliking it. But Leigh Bardugo really wrote a good one here. Six of Crows was so complex and simply amazing! Already ordered my copy of Shadow and Bone, and Crooked Kingdom is waiting on my bookshelf.

 

 

Akemi Dawn Bowman

 

Image result for summer bird blue

Grief is a monster—not everyone gets out alive, and those who do might only survive in pieces.

 

I got an ARC of Summer Bird Blue from the publishers, and it quickly became a favorite. I hardly read contemporary books, but Akemi Dawn Bowman wrote such a wonderful book and I’m definitely going to read everything she write from now on.

 


 

phonto (10)

Which new authors became your favorites in 2018?

11 thoughts on “#Project14lists: New to me authors in 2018

  1. I finally read Leigh Bardugo’s Six Of Crows duology this year and I adored it! Hadn’t read anything by her before this, but I cannot wait for King Of Scars now. I also loved Ashley Poston’s Heart Of Iron and I’m going to try and read her other books soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely list! I’m so happy you loved Laini Taylor and Holly Black’s books. They’re two of my favorites authors, I love their books so much. I haven’t read Akemi Dawn Bowman yet, but I want to read Starfish in 2019! I’m so exited to pick it up 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laini Taylor and Holly Black have both become favorites now. Absolutely loved thier work! And you should definitely pick up one of Akemi Dawn Bowman’s books! Summer Bird Blue is the first one I read (and it was amazing!!). Planning to pick up Starfish in 2019 too! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think my favorite authors this year was Kristin Hannah i have read to her The Nightingale book which is my most favourite book this year i can’t stop thinking about this book until now ! 😍 also i love Jassica Brody her writing style was so beautiful !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment